2012 Harold Awards – Monday Night May 7th! – El Mocambo – 8pm – $10!

2012 Harold Awards – Monday Night May 7th! – El Mocambo – 8pm – $10!
Hosted by Caroline Gillis! With musical guests Blair Irwin and John Hughes on piano Show starts at 8pm sharp. $10 at the door – cash only (please bring a canned food item to donate) …
El Mocambo 464 Spadina Avenue, Toronto, ON
Just south of College
Since 1995 The Harold Awards have come to represent the independent and hard-working spirit of Toronto’s vibrant theatre community – a kind of rabble-rousing alternative to the Dora Awards. To be Harolded is an honour of the highest subversive order. Awards are bestowed from one individual to the next in recognition of an outstanding and often under-recognized dedication on or off the stage. The Harold Awards lineage reads like a who’s-who of Toronto theatre, beginning with: Luther Hansraj, Kirsten Johnson, Sherrie Johnson, Jacoba Knaapen, Daniel MacIvor, Don McKellar, Darren O’Donnell, Alex Posh-Goldin, Nadia Ross, Lisa Ryder, Sarah Stanley, Deanne Taylor and the late and dearly missed Paul Bettis.
HAROLDS HISTORY: Born on May 30, 1906, Harold Kandel achieved notoriety in Toronto’s theatre community with his tireless commitment and frequent heckling. Knowledge of Harold’s presence in an audience would elicit a double-edged response of dread and pride in the heart of a performer. If Harold was in the house – it meant you had arrived. If Harold was in the house – it meant it was going to be a long night. After Harold’s death in 1994 a group of 13 theatre artists assembled to create this now-legendary annual event in celebration of the spirit of dedication, commitment and passion of Toronto’s vibrant theatre community.
THE KEN McDOUGALL AWARD: Established in 1995 by Buddies In Bad Times Theatre, Platform 9 and Theatre Passe Muraille, the annual Ken McDougall Award serves to acknowledge a promising emerging director. Previous recipients have been: Franco Boni, Cathy Gordon, Michael Waller, Chris Abraham, Simon Heath, Patrick Conner, Ellen Ray Hennessey, Rebecca Brown, Nina Aquino, Kimahli Powell, Brendan Healy, Bea Pizano and Jacob Zimmer. Each year the innovators, instigators and architects of the Toronto theatre community descend upon a local establishment to honour our fellow devotees and to celebrate. The evening is riddled with giddy secrecy, as those about to be Harolded don’t know it. The Harolds is the only awards night of its kind – as unique as the man himself – an evening of surprise, pride and serious celebration.
Posted in 2012 Harolds, Harold Awards

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Harold Awards and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Harold Tweets!
%d bloggers like this: