The Harold Awards 2017

celebrating shit disturbers and theatre community members since 1995


Monday June 12th, 2017 

8:00pm (doors at 7:30pm)

Tallulah’s Cabaret – Buddies In Bad Times

PWYC cash at the door! (suggested donation $10)

Free food! (Yes, we said FREE FOOD!)


 Once a year, indie theatre gets its shit together and gives out some goddamn awards.

This is a once-a-year, one-night-only party where we come together to honour and heckle the misfits of Toronto’s independent theatre community.

Harold Awards are passed down year-to-year like a hand-me-down used blanket. There is no higher honour than to be “Harolded” and become a “Haroldee”. Along with the everlasting glory and a cash prize of $0.00, each winner is conveniently tricked into organizing the next year’s awards and choosing next year’s winners.

The fun is also in tricking your Haroldee into being there, and seeing the shocked look on their face when you call their name. To be Harolded is to know you have made a unique contribution to our f’d up art-form.

Every year a new person designs an original Harold Award. This year, the award is being designed by one of last year’s winners, Andrea Battersby.


Andrea Battersby, Laura Baxter, Benjamin Blais & Claire Burns, Leah-Simone Bowen, Christine Brubaker, Valary Cook, Mel Hague, L’Oqenz, Jajube Mandiela, Angela McQueen, Tracy Michailidis, Jiv Parasram, Rebecca Perry, Julie Tepperman & Brian Quirt


Born on May 30, 1906, Harold Kandel achieved notoriety in Toronto’s theatre community with his tireless commitment and frequent heckling. Knowledge of Harold’s presence in an audience would elicit a double-edged response of dread and pride in the heart of a performer. If Harold was in the house – it meant you had arrived. If Harold was in the house – it meant it was going to be a long night. After Harold’s death in 1994 a group of 13 theatre artists assembled to create this now-legendary annual event in celebration of the spirit of dedication, commitment and passion of Toronto’s vibrant theatre community.

THE KEN McDOUGALL AWARD: Established in 1995 by Buddies In Bad Times Theatre, Platform 9 and Theatre Passe Muraille, the annual Ken McDougall Award serves to acknowledge a promising emerging director. Previous recipients have been: Franco Boni, Cathy Gordon, Chris Abraham, Simon Heath, Patrick Conner, Ellen Ray Hennessey, Nina Aquino, Brendan Healy, Bea Pizano, Leora Morris, Mitchell Cushman, Matthew Thomas Walker, Jacob Zimmer and last year’s winner, Christine Brubaker.

THE BARBARA FINGEROTE VOLUNTEER AWARD: Established in 2012 by the 2012 Harold Award Planning Committee, the annual Barbara Fingerote Volunteer Award acknowledges the dedication and commitment of the volunteers in the performing arts in Toronto who help the artists and administrators make the show go on. Last Year’s Winner: Valary Cook.

el***NEW THIS YEAR!***  Party into the night with the DJ styling’s of L’Oqenz!

 Got questions? Hit up Julie Tepperman at: